Coordinating Committee

Coordinating Committee

The Coordinating Committee helps guide and facilitate the Network. It is intentionally called a Coordinating Committee since it draws its authority from the goals of the group as a whole. The Committee is made up of members who are responsible for refining and advancing the Network’s goals and initiatives, tapping members for Network tasks, and articulating the way forward for the Network. Committee members represent the Network’s geographic, sectoral, and skills diversity. There is also a small executive committee that works to advance Network operations on a more regular basis.


Current members of the Coordinating Committee include:

Jeffrey Allenby
Director of Conservation Technology, Chesapeake Conservancy; Chesapeake Partnership

Ole Amundsen
Executive Director, Maine Audubon

Brenda Barrett
Editor, Living Landscape Observer

Robert Bendick, Co-Chair
Director, Gulf of Mexico Program, The Nature Conservancy

Patrick Bixler
Research Scientist, Institute for Renewable Natural Resources, Texas A&M

Gary Burnett
Executive Director, Blackfoot Challenge

Ernest Cook
Senior Vice President and Conservation Director, Trust for Public Land

Kassandra Hardy
Large Landscape Initiatives, Biological Services Division, National Park Service

Steve Jester
Executive Director, Partners for Conservation

David Johns
Board Member and Co-founder, Yellowstone to Yukon Conservation Initiative; Wildlands Network

Shawn Johnson
Managing Director, Center for Natural Resources and Environmental Policy, University of Montana

Bill Labich
Senior Conservationist and Regional Conservation Partnership (RCP) Network Director, Highstead Foundation

Nora Mitchell
Founding Director, Conservation Study Institute; Adjunct Associate Professor, University of Vermont

Kit Muller
National Landscape Initiatives Coordinator, Bureau of Land Management

Peter Pollock 
Ronald Smith Fellow, Lincoln Institute of Land Policy

Karen Prentice
National Healthy Landscapes Coordinator, Bureau of Land Management

Melinda Pruett-Jones
Executive Director, American Ornithologists’ Union

Julie Regan, Co-Chair
Chief, External Affairs, Tahoe Regional Planning Authority

Esther Stroh
Senior Ecologist, US Geological Survey

Gary Tabor
Executive Director, Center for Large Landscape Conservation

Ben Thatcher
Assistant National Coordinator, Landscape Conservation Cooperatives, US Fish & Wildlife Service

Julie Turrini
Director and Attorney, Land, Resources Legacy Fund

Summer Waters
Director, Western Lands and Communities, Sonoran Institute

Michael Whitfield
Coordinator, Heart of the Rockies Initiative

Peter Williams
Director, US Institute for Environmental Conflict Resolution